Melbourne Cup, Dylan Thomas & Annie Hall

It’s probably not very often you see those names and event in one title but alas Melbourne Cup is here and the Gold Coast Turf Club will be awash with fake tan and fascinators! I was supposed to be amidst the fun today but one more paper for Honours will no doubt keep me chained to a high back computer chair in the computer lab at Uni all day. Brilliant. I was really hoping to be like the lady below today.

 

 

 

 

 

Marieke Hardy tweeted this article she wrote last year on Melbourne Cup and I have to say I feel a bit ashamed of going to the actual one in Melbourne a couple of years ago after reading this …
http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/40668.html

You must be thinking what has this got to do with Dylan Thomas, or Annie Hall? Well I’ve never seen Annie Hall before so watched it last night with about 3 cups of tea and 4 fucking cookies which I was totally conned into buying from Coles – anyhow, loved it. Annie Hall that is. And Woody Allen is hilarious. The whole awkward reality of love in the movie reminded me of The Way We Were, of course Woody Allen’s got ‘nowt’ on Robert Redford; he’s possibly the most beautiful man I’ve seen on screen. Apart from Elvis of course.

I know Vogue has wanked over the Annie Hall style for years but I really did fall in love with the blazer/red flower ensemble in one of the bar scenes where she sings. I can’t find a picture of it now but I will endeavour to rock that look when I’m not heading to 45 degree heat.

 

 

 

 

 

And Dylan Thomas you ask? Also watched The Edge of Love for the second time last night. You know the one, with the Kiera Knightley, Matthew Rhys and Sienna Miller love triangle. Set in London and then in Wales in WWII. Matthew Rhys plays Dylan Thomas; I think he’s brilliant. Sienna plays Thomas’s wife Caitlin Macnamara (Thomas) and Kiera plays Thomas’s childhood sweetheart. I loved it, again, but then I’m the most cynical romantic you’ll ever meet. And the styling, oh god. It makes me want to jump on the next plane home to England, whack on some wellys and a floral tea dress and run around the countryside smoking fags and reading poetry aloud on top of a windy hill.

Dylan Thomas and Caitlin Macnamara – apparently their marriage was a stormy alcohol fuelled affair and when Caitlin was called up and told Dylan was dying, she flew to America and on arrival said: ‘Is the bloody man dead yet?’ Classic.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And now for the rich BBC version I can’t help but adore …

 

 

 

 

 

 

The red coat? I know.

OK I’ll finish with one of Thomas’s poems. I really love this one.

Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night

Do not go gentle into that good night,
Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

And you, my father, there on that sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Dylan Thomas

Leave a Reply

